The Allied Masonic Degrees

AMD Logo

The Allied Masonic Degrees is an organization based on interest and ability in Masonic research and scholarship. Membership is by invitation and is open to Companions who have completed the Chapter degrees. The local bodies are styled “Councils”, and the national supervisory body is the Grand Council. Councils are presided over by a Sovereign Master, who is assisted by eight other officers. The structure and office titles of the Council are very similar to corresponding offices and ritual in the Blue Lodge. The maximum number of active members of any Council is limited to 27. Some Councils are very selective. Papers and discussions of Masonic and related topics are typically held at Council meetings. The AMD controls 10 degrees, but which ones (if any) are actually “worked” is decided by each Council for itself. 

Upon joining, the candidate is given a preliminary lecture on the history, aims, and purposes of the AMD, then introduced into the Council room, takes a “blanket” obligation, and is taught the necessary signs. This is sufficient to make him a member of the AMD. The insignia of a Brother of the AMD is shown at left. Any degrees that are conferred follow the obligation ceremony.

Paper Name



This content is restricted to AMD Members only. Enter the password  to see this content. 

Be a freemason

Start your journey

Freemasons are united in the common goal of becoming better men. If you’re ready to find more, fill out the form below and a Freemason representative will reach out to you shortly.

Who We Are

A Freemason is a man who has taken an obligation to uphold our timeless principles of Brotherly love, relief, and truth. Beyond these basics, being a Freemason means so much more. A Freemason is a man who is committed to bettering himself and his community, having taken a solemn vow to help and mentor his Masonic Brothers do the same. A Freemason is a man eager to be part of something bigger than himself, with a reverence for history, compassion in his heart, and a desire to create a better future.

There are three degrees in Freemasonry: Entered Apprentice, Fellowcraft, and Master Mason. Most men advance to the level of Master Mason, some over the course of months; others may accomplish this goal over years. But once a man has taken his first obligation as an Entered Apprentice, he is, once and forever, a Freemason.

To Webmaster

We'd love to hear from you!

No. 796

Thank You
for your order.

share with the world

share with the world